Posted by: minnow | December 26, 2010

Hanukkah Christmas and Kwanzaa

Each of the title holidays occurs in December.   But did you know that December is Hi Neighbor Month and Write a Friend Month. (Kind of convenient since I still need to send out our Christmas letter.  You know the annual letter in which I brag about how wonderful my children are and send it to the family and friends I rarely get to see)?  It is also Universal Human Rights Month.  And, in addition to the religious holiday days or weeks several other December days celebrate or commemorate important events or issues as well.  December third is International Day of the Disabled Person.  The bombing of Pearl Harbor is remembered on December seventh.  In 1948 the United Nations declared December tenth as Human Rights Day.  Interestingly, the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded on that same day since 1901.  Several sillier days are celebrated in December too, such as Humbug Day, Oatmeal Muffin Day, Mitten Tree Day, and National Flashlight Day.

This morning (Sunday) a lot of people will be heading off to a worship service while a whole lot more will probably be heading off to the biggest single shopping day of the year, second only to the day after Thanksgiving.  As I browsed the Christmas greeting on Facebook that I missed, drank my coffee, and remembered what an absolutely perfect day I was blessed with yesterday I was summoned downstairs for the beginning of the next leg of our journey–puppies.  Everything I was going to say in this blog has slipped my mind.  So Merry Merry everyone.  Keep those less fortunate lifted up and do what you can to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

Categories

