Posted by: minnow | June 20, 2010

Happy Father’s Day!

I do not have a lot of memories of my childhood which is probably the same as saying it was not traumatic or particularly eventful.  Many of the memories I do have, however, involve my Dad.  So it seems appropriate on this particular Sunday to say: Thank you Dad!  Thanks for childhood memories and for helping me grow up feeling safe.

I loved to go camping with my dad.  We took a canoe down part of the Missouri a couple different times.  And, he often took my sister and I skiing, at King’s Hill, where we went to ski, not sit in the club house.  He was my partner playing bridge.  Mom was my sister’s.  He could keep tract of what had been played better than anyone I knew.  (Until my son John started playing that is).  Dad played a mean game of peanuts (a type of double solitaire).  And, one of my greatest  accomplishments was winning against him.

For much of my childhood we had a cabin on Seeley Lake.  Right after dinner my Dad and I would row the boat across the lake and fish.  Sometimes we caught bass and sometimes we caught trout.  We hardly ever came home empty-handed and we often caught enough to have a fish fry at least once during the weekend. 

My father taught me the Lord’s Prayer.  When I was about five or six he came into my sister’s and my room and taught us to pray, “Our Father who art in heaven…”.  I do not remember him coming in to say good night or to pray with us at any other time but I remember that.  It was a gift in a strange sort of way.

I love my father deeply.  He has been a rock solid figure in my life.  He gave me part of a wonderful example of love in marriage.  (My mother, of course, gave me the other part).  My father is a man of integrity. ” Honesty is the best policy” is not just a slogan for him.  It is the foundation on which he has lived his life. 

We do not always see eye to eye.  And I have not always followed or appreciated his advice.  Yet I will always look up to him and value what he has to say.  He is a good man, who had worked hard and lived wisely.  I am blessed to have him in my life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

