Posted by: minnow | May 20, 2010

Walking it Out

The following is a paraphrase of a conversation shared with me from FB:
POSTER’S STATUS UPDATE
The social justice movement should not be built on human RIGHTS. Instead it ought to be constructed on human VALUE. The theory of evolution has deadened the power of human value to the point that we think of mankind as only slightly more intelligent than our primate ancestors. We only begin to understand the value of human life, and as a result are bound to nurture and defend it, when we understand that we have been made in the image of God.
  
Several comments followed basically shouting “Amen!”  Then a commenter asked:  “Where did you hear about the Social Justice Movement?”
POSTER
IHOP (the International House of Prayer) recently started talking about it. But I knew some students at the U. (our local university) who were into getting equal pay for sweat shop workers, etc.  The trouble is while the world cares about getting people good living conditions (which is a decent thing to do), they aren’t starting at the right place.  They only care about human rights but they should care about human value because that focuses on God.  The world’s view of social justice focuses on humanity not God which leads away from Jesus.
  
COMMENTER
I just asked cus [insert right-wing FOX guy here] continually mentions the fact that social justice is a front for something else.

POSTER
LOL.  I can just hear him saying that.  Still it does matter because people have value but only because they have been made in the image of God.

May I just say I am deeply disturbed by this conversation.  First, can anyone tell me what Social Justice might be a front  to?  Seriously.  I bet we’re smuggling drugs across the border.  So what if the drugs just happen to be penicillin.  If they should ever get into the wrong hands someone could be healed of a serious infection.  IF I WAS A SWEARING PERSON I’D BE DOING IT RIGHT NOW!

But that is not even the part which bugs me the most.  I am so very weary of Christians who think they are better than everyone else.  They care but not from the right starting place so it does not count?  I have an idea, why not ask the guy who can not earn a decent living–Hey sir, would you rather hear “God bless, have a nice day.  Hope you get work.” from someone who loves Jesus?  Or would you prefer someone helps to pressure your government so labor laws are passed that assure you will have enough money to feed your family, even if they do not tell you they love Jesus first?  And by the way, who do you think is showing the love of God and their love for God?

My very blunt message to those of you out there who think you have God buffaloed with all your nice words and status updates that brag about how much you love the Lord, want to follow Him, have your priorities straight, and are only seeking His ways–WAKE UP!  A whole lot of the world out there who has never breathe the name Jesus is doing a whole lot more reflecting of His glory by just BEING His hands and feet than you are with all your holier than thou verbage!  You think you are praising His name?  In truth you are a mockery!  Keeping the world at arm’s length (or in an entirely different room) while you spew out these platitudes is the very antithesis of Jesus. 

Oh yeah, I almost forgot–you are waiting to hear from God.   You want His direction for your life.  I have a great idea!  Read Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, and Acts.  Then start practicing what you see modeled.  That ought to keep you busy, for maybe THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!  Oh but you do not want to do anything without Him leading the way, giving you the GO!  Well then reread Matthew 28:18-20, Mark 16:15-20, Luke 24, John 20, and Acts 1:1-11, 2:1-4, 42-47.  If there is not GO enough for you in those verse then at least do me the favor of shutting your mouth (so to speak) on Facebook.

PS: Feel free to de-friend me any time.

Responses

  1. I haven’t been able to be in church for the last four weeks. But, here are the chances I’ve had to be a Christian in the last four days:

    1) Listened to a friend talk about how God is teaching her about her deep anger in mysterious and profound ways;
    2) Cried in front of friends at work and allowed them to love me so they could share in God’s love for me;
    3) Called my daughter and wished her well, even though she’s on a family vacation with her dad and the thought of not being able to be there with her brings me to tears;
    4) Faced my anger and asked God to teach me something through my anger, instead of trying to deny it or cover it up.

    All of these things start first, in me. I believe that if I can learn to love myself, it will be an easy thing when the chance to love my neighbor crosses my path.


Leave a Reply

Categories

