Posted by: minnow | November 2, 2009

Truth and Action

The following is near the end of a conversation between my son, Jacob, and one of his friends which found the friend asserting himself as a sort of Spiritual Morpheus(ala the Matrix) in order to teach Jacob the truth  about issues like prayer, prophecy, and hell.  I am proud of Jacob’s response and got permission to reprint it on my blog.  I think he expresses his desire to put his faith into action well.  If you have read many of my posts you can see, we share some similar frustrations.  (The first paragraph responses to the friend’s offer to send Jacob a journaling “tool” so he might “go deeper in God”).

Thank you for the offer of the journaling tool.  It is great that you have learned from it. But, I don’t feel the need to use anything else for journaling then what I am already using. I have several journals going right now, all for the sake of digging deeper in my Gift and getting closer to God. I feel I have a constant connection with God and try to use Him as a guide throughout the day and night.

I think the bottom line is that you and I disagree on what Prophecy is supposed to be about. The more I pray and work towards the Vision God has given me, the more obvious the Prophecy of this world becomes. If we choose to walk with God and act out our beliefs, we will begin to see Heaven on earth. If we, as God’s people, choose to stay inactive, then we will only see the world go deeper into darkness.

I think Prophecy can often be a bunch of hyper spiritual nonsense. I have seen numerous times, people talk about Revival and Spiritual Storms coming but it feels as though they just keep on talking about it coming, nothing really happens from the talk. I have heard many good friends talk about Jesus moving in their lives, but I seldom see actual change come with the talk. Prophecy means very little to me if I don’t see the action and results come after.

The bottom line for me is that I feel we concentrate on the hyper spiritual so much, we forget about reality. We are so busy warning people about Hell after they die, we forget to see the Hell many are living in right now. We are so concentrated on hearing the “true” voice of God and getting into His “presence”, that we don’t feel or hear the obvious cries of His heart when someone dies of hunger or is neglected on the street.

To me God is a personal God who is in the midst of sinners. I see God work in those who act. I can not say anyone is completely without God, even my “Cult” friend has shown me qualities that I feel only could come from God. 

You have warned me many times about Cal but if you were truly confident in your faith I believe you would be able to look at people like  Cal and  see the good in what he says and does.  Here is an example:  Cal is good friends with Paul, a client where we work. Paul gets very lonely and is a bit depressed because he really does not have many friends. Cal for no personal reason what so ever asked if Paul remembered any friends from his old high school. Cal took all the names and googled them. For several weeks Cal wrote these friends emails telling them about Paul, where he is now in life and asking them if they could give Paul a call. Finally after several letters from Cal, a friend called Paul and exchanged phone numbers telling Paul, “He could call any time”.  Tell me, was Cal’s kindness toward Paul really evil?  

Even though you are not saying it, you have been acting (which I think is more telling) as though I am “lost”. I can not tell you how frustrating this makes me feel.  I am not interested in you telling me how to be a Christian and get in contact with God. If you are going to really be able to change anyone’s heart, you will have to choose to come to a level playing field with them. (If Jesus did it, anyone can do it.)

Honestly, I do not blame any “non-Christian” for not wanting to be “saved”, if they keep being treated as less than by those trying to save them. Why would anyone want to listen to someone who thinks they are only as good as a demon and deserve  to be tormented for ETERNITY?

I actually have an easier time learning from non-believers then most believers. For, I am very sad to say, most of my friends who go to Church, and the weekly Bible study, and Youth Group don’t seem to be able to think for themselves and remain mostly inactive. I can learn from people who are testing and walking in their faith. I can learn from those who are shooting but seem to be way off. But the people I can’t learn much from are the people who remain distant and have an “us VS. them” mentality.

I think this is missed by MANY Christians now a days, but it is crucial for ALL of us to know that actions speak louder than words. If you don’t think non-Christians or “The Lost” have anything to offer, IT SHOWS, no matter how nicely you talk to them.

The type of prophesying and “communion with God” you are talking about, is just a way to stay distant from real relationships with all people (Christian and non-Christian alike).  And to put it bluntly, I am not interested. 

That’s it–my son’s response.  The conversation continued a little longer.  I actually spliced a couple of his responses together because they were made similar points.  I was sad that Jacob’s friend continued to try to set him on the “right” path and ignore what he was actually saying.  In the example, Cal and Paul are fictional names for real people. The friend Jacob was writing to knows Cal as a professed witch and has told Jacob that because Cal is “completely evil” he can do “nothing good”. The conversation ended with my son realizing the two had no real common ground, a sad way for “brothers” to end.

Responses

  1. like mother like son I see. 🙂 Great response. I think this part was really powerful:

    I actually have an easier time learning from non-believers then most believers. For, I am very sad to say, most of my friends who go to Church, and the weekly Bible study, and Youth Group don’t seem to be able to think for themselves and remain mostly inactive. I can learn from people who are testing and walking in their faith. I can learn from those who are shooting but seem to be way off. But the people I can’t learn much from are the people who remain distant and have an “us VS. them” mentality.

    I think this is missed by MANY Christians now a days, but it is crucial for ALL of us to know that actions speak louder than words. If you don’t think non-Christians or “The Lost” have anything to offer, IT SHOWS, no matter how nicely you talk to them.

  2. Thanks to Jacob for allowing us into his world.

    One time, God told Frank (when he was working around a lot of people who cussed, lied, told lude stories, and all sorts of “sinner” stuff like that), God said, “I want you to look at each person as if they are already a Child of God.”

    How’s that for unconditional love? I guess we don’t have to understand how someone gets closer to God. Maybe we only need to understand how we do, through their presence in our lives.

    Thanks, Minnow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

