Posted by: minnow | October 29, 2009

Whose Message Do We Believe?

I really enjoy reading Kathy Escobar’s blog, A Carnival in My Head.  And this week‘s post was no different.  The question she posed to her readers was: How would you fill in the blank?  Despite my doubt I still believe_________________.  My first thought was that God is good.  But the more I thought about that the more I realized my response really had nothing to do with my doubt.  I have never doubted the goodness of God.  I have always been able to see His provision and blessing in my life and in the lives of others.

Over the last few years, however, I have had real questions about His wisdom in choosing to use “the Church” to accomplish His will on earth, to spread His message, to demonstrate His love.  I do not believe that God has failed us or abandoned us in some way but I do think much of the Church has failed Him.  We have abandoned His message and replaced it with our own.  The message we tend to spread rarely looks or sounds much like LOVE.  More often our message is filled with promises of wealth if you give to your local fellowship, good kids if you bring them to Sunday school each week, and peace, healing, and joy if you say the right prayers.  Oh I know, these promises are generally qualified if not out right denied in the small print  but they certainly have been implied in every organized gathering I have ever attended.

I have grown tired of the prosperity gospel that leaves most of the world (especially the unsaved  world) out.  I am skeptical of the name it and claim it message that suggest our “life-giving”, positive message, “speak to that which is not as if it is” words are enough; that we do not actually have to do  anything other than pray (AKA: talk a lot using holy verbage and in a hyperventilating state). 

A recent conversation my son shared with me fueled some of the frustration you may be hearing in this post.  It also served as a big AHA in my mind.  Some in the institutionalized Church are fond of painting pictures of God up in heaven with His hands tied, suggesting that we (through our prayers) have the power  to release His hands.  I heard myself saying to my son, “I wished the Church could see the reason God’s hands are tied  is because we refuse to lift ours!”  And, I did not mean lift as in a worship stance!!  The harvest is plentiful the workers–those willing to make a difference in someone else’s life through their personal involvement–are few.  When the Church decides to take the concept of being His hands and feet on the earth seriously enough to start meeting the needs He helps us to see, then will God’s hands no longer be tied! 

When asked about Christianity Gandhi once said, “I like your Christ.  I do not like your Christians.  Your Chirstians are so unlike your Christ.”  I have found myself thinking a lot like Gandhi.  But, I do not want to only be a finger pointer.  I want to take what Gandhi said personally.  What in my own life must change so my message more accurately relays Christ’s message?  What can I do?  How can I live, so my hands and feet reveal Christ’s heart?

Responses

  1. “I wished the Church could see the reason God’s hands are tied is because we refuse to lift ours”

    wow very powerful


Leave a Reply

Categories

