Posted by: minnow | November 9, 2008

Post Election Heavy Sigh

I needed a few post-election days before I wrote this post.  I needed the space not because I was devastated about the election results.  Strangely I am almost relieved.  No, I needed the break because I was not sure I even wanted to jump back into the fray. 

At this moment my heart is actually peace-filled, my head uncluttered.  I am cautiously hopeful about America’s future.  And, I like feeling this way.  Finding posts like the one I linked to below contribute to my happy endorphins yet I know life is not all silver clouds and roses.

As if it is not enough that President-elect Obama has more than a few serious problems with which to contend as soon as he reaches office, he must do so knowing that people within our own country plot evil against him.  Others, so certain his plans and policies for our nation are totally wrong, stand ready to criticize him at every turn.  Still, these two views can be set aside as extremist.  Rational people do not think that way.  Reasonable, pragmatic people shake hands after a fight.

So what is my problem?  Why am I not dancing in the street?  After all, I have wanted this election to be over for at least a month now?  Is it really just a case of my guy not winning so I feel like pouting?  No.  Even though I voted for Senator McCain because I believe less government is better than more government and his policies were less government oriented, I am not depressed that he did not win.

My problem/frustration is once again with the Church.  I am tired of standing in the gap of repentance.  I am tired of crying out to God for mercy.  I am tired of grieving for the Church.  My heart aches every time I read a comment or hear a sound-bite from a self proclaimed spokesperson for God.  I want to scream, “Sit down and shut up!  How dare you pass judgment on another man’s faith?!  Since when did the Lamb of God hand you the Book of Life?”  Inappropriate?  Oh, I am sure I would be shouted down in some circles but I simply do not care any more. 

If God even cares about American politics, and I am not so sure He does, I am absolutely certain His concerns are not reflected in the attitudes of the talking heads of the Church who would travel over land and sea to win a single convert but in doing so make him twice as much a son of hell as they are themselves.  Yes, I am treading on thin ice.  My finger pointing may very well come back to bite me in the butt.  And so, I do repent.  I do cry out for mercy. 

Lord, forgive our arrogance.  And, begin with me.  Help me to see others with the love and mercy You have shown me.  Lord, replace my eyes with Your eyes, my ears with Your ears, my heart with Your heart.  Jesus, Your word says but for the joy set before You, You endured the cross.  May I have that  kind of love for Your Church, Your Body, my brothers and sisters.  Oh Father God, forgive us our white-washed tombs.  Have mercy.  We see through the glass but dimly.  Holy Spirit, be our counselor, our comforter, our very present help.  If we are asked to walk a mile help us walk two.  And Lord, if we are to error let us error on the side of grace.

Responses

  1. amen 🙂

  2. I agree, I think we should call for another reformation of the church. At the very least take a serious look at how we as Christians conduct our church now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

