Posted by: minnow | July 15, 2008

Rant–Nothing Better to Do

I follow several blogs on a fairly regular basis. Most of the time they give me something to think about during the day or they challenge me to take action. You can see my blogroll for the list I visit at least once a week plus a couple I just want to advertise (like: Kiva a third world lending organization, Compassion International, XXXChurch, and Trade as One). For the past 24 days I have been visiting Inspired to Action. 80 bloggers are taking a day during a forty day fast and pray campaign to highlight an organization which is making a different in the lives of “the least of these”. Most are international organizations that operate primarily in third world countries but not all of them. My point is: the need is great, the workers are few, and Inspired to Action is doing something to get the message out. Please check it out here.

Another blog I visit quite frequently is Relevant Christian. Today I read a post by Jimmy. He wondered what we thought of a church project in Texas. Their plan–to build a 200 foot cross. The pastor was excited because it might be the biggest cross in the world. I had to laugh, laugh because otherwise I would have cried. It is one thing for superstars and million dollar sports figures who are completely self absorbed or do not know Jesus to not have any idea what to do with their extreme wealth and so decide to build some irrelevant monument. It is quite another thing, in my not so humble opinion, for Christians to be unable to find nothing better to do than build useless structures with the hard earned money of their followers.

Oh I’m sure a core group of parishioners are quite excited about this cross building project. I am also certain some in that fellowship are shaking their heads and wondering if the whole world has gone mad. Am I saying crosses are bad or having attractive symbols of our faith are wrong? No, not at all. I’m just saying we have got to figure out something better to do with our money.

Responses

  1. wow, I get what you’re saying.

    thanks for allowing God to use your words to open my eyes.

    hope all is well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

