Posted by: minnow | February 9, 2008

Loving Our Enemies

I was just visiting a couple random blogs and came across one that made me wince.  Actually it made me embarrassed, and then angry, and then wince.  I was embarrassed because it was written by a Christian but it was full of foul language and hate speech.  I was angry because here was one more person tearing other people down, including some fellow Christians and thereby giving non-Christians another reason to dislike us.  I wanted to pop the guy, which is what made me wince.  You see as angry and embarrassed as I was I showed myself to be more like the guy I was angry at than like Christ.  The only difference was I was not directing my frustrations at the people he was ranting about I was directing my violent thoughts toward him.  But he deserved it some might say.  Yet I would have to add, if he deserved it, so do those he is angry and frustrated with and probably the ones they are angry at and so on down the line until it is all Adam’s and Eve’s fault which of course it is but only because we (with our free will) seem much more interested in following Adam’s and Eve’s example than in following Christ’s.  Daniel, Meshach, Shadrach, and Abed-nego told King Nebuchadnezzar (who symbolizes the world in this story) “our God can save us but even if He chooses not to we will never pay you homage, we will not give way to your edict”.  Their rational minds could not have known that the fire in the furnace would not consume them yet still they stood their ground.  They did not cry out foul name upon Nebuchadnezzar or wish him dead even when they faced their own death.  In fact, to the point they were able they had served the king and helped him to prosper.  What a different world it would be if we could treat those who threaten our very lives in a similar way.  How different it would be if we could give our friends that much grace.

Leave a Reply

Categories

