Posted by: minnow | January 20, 2008

So McCain Won SC

I was hoping McCain would win South Carolina so it’s good news to me that he did.  I was asked what I saw as the top three priorities for the incoming president yesterday.  My answer seems all over the map in some ways.  Number one was to stablize Iraq before we got out.  Number two was to get a global world view which translated means caring about the rest of the world, recognizing our impact on the world, and becoming good stewards of our environment.  Number three was hardest to decide.  I finally said smaller government.  I know (because I’ve been reading a lot of God’s Politics and Brian McLaren’s stuff lately) that many people believe government has a responsibility to equalize the playing field so to speak between the haves and the have nots.  The problem with this thinking for me is that government only has a soul as good as the groups who are in control of it.  Sadly those groups don’t tend to have much heart.  I believe individuals are much better at loving their neighbors then governments are.  At the same time I truly believe leaders–political and otherwise–can inspire and encourage people to do what is good and what is right.  They can use their platforms to speak to the greater audience on behalf of the greater good.  This is the duty of government in my opinion.  And, I believe, at least for now that Senator John McCain has the most sincere message and the most realistic outlook.  We shall see.

Leave a Reply

Categories

